Spier – 1692
If you are looking for an interesting development of the traditional gable building style around The Cape, visit Spier outside Stellenbosch. The cryptic history is as follow:
1652 – Cape of Good Hope, Jan van Riebeeck
1679 – Stellenbosch founded by Governor of the Cape Colony, Simon van der Stel, who named it after himself.
1683 – Arnoud Jansz settles on the Spier Farm
1692 – Governor Simon van der Stel signs the first Spier Title Deed when granting the property to Arnoud Jansz.
1767 – Mijburg, owner at the time, builds his Wine Cellar, with the holbol gable dating to 1767
1773 – Shed or Cow House centre gable is built.
1778 – Jonkershuis Workshop centre gable is built.
1817 – Jonkershuis centre gable is built.
1822 – Manor House centre gable is added.
1825 – The restored Slave Bell on the banks of the Eerste River is built by Van der Byl when he needs a great number of slaves to harvest the grapes from the estate’s 80 000 vines.
1971 – We bottle our first wine under the Spier label.
1995 – New wine cellar built with a capacity to produce 50 000 cases of wine per year.
2008 – Spier releases its flagship wine, Frans K Smit, named after our cellar master.
2009 – Eight Restaurant opens. Like its name, the restaurant is an expression of balance, cycles, harmony, infinity and abundance.
2011 – Spier releases 21 Gables Chenin Blanc and Pinotage, named after the 21 historical gables found on our farm.
2012 – The Dying Slave, a 42,6sqm outdoor mosaic sculpture conceived by Marco Cianfanelli and created by Spier Architectural Arts, is installed at Spier.
Venture Photography spend some time wondering around. This is a mobile snapshot of some of the buildings that showcase where the 21 Gables theme originate from. If you want to take a guided tour of the Estate to combine art, design, food and a wine experience contact Venture Photography. (credit: http://www.spier.co.za/farm/heritage)